jump to navigation

Think I’m gonna stay home, have myself a home life. September 24, 2007

Posted by Jae in Jobz.
Tags: , ,
trackback

The worst time to call in sick is when you actually are sick.

In my life I have taken a few *ahem* mental health days from work/school/life in general and though I’ve read quite a few articles telling me that I should feel guilty about that, I don’t. I’ve never done it when it would wreck someone else’s day, and in my opinion, they make me a better employee/student/person because they keep me from walking around grumbling and plotting anyone’s demise.

However, when it comes time to call in sick because I’m actually sick, I usually cannot shake that nagging feeling of guilt; today was no exception. I felt off all day yesterday, but as I was getting ready for bed I got sick to my stomach. My mother had a stomach bug over the weekend, and I spent time with her, so I guess I shouldn’t be that surprised. In addition to (or perhaps because of) the icky stomach, I found myself unable to fall asleep. I was hot and jittery, not to mention wide-awake until about 4:30 a.m.

So when my alarm went off at seven, I vaguely remember waking up, resetting it for eight, and falling back asleep. At eight I woke up and emailed my boss to tell her about what was going on and to apologize. After that I laid on my bed feeling guilty and watching T.V. until I drifted off to sleep again.

I didn’t do much else all day, and eventually I stopped feeling so guilty. I wish I understood why I get that way. I guess I just don’t want to let anyone down. If I’m having a planned day-off, I feel like I’ve taken care of things beforehand: tied up my lose ends at work, given everyone anything they needed from me, picked a slow, relatively harmless day, etc. But when I get sick out of the blue I haven’t planned anything, and though I’m sure the world can turn without me for one day, I hate to think that I had to make anyone’s life more difficult.

Perhaps I have some control issues. 😉

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

