jump to navigation

NaNoWriMo October 31, 2007

Posted by Jae in Me, myself, and I.
Tags: , ,
trackback

While cruising the FA blogs, I find many, many inspiring things. Usually these are things which challenge me to love myself exactly as I am, and stop worrying about the magical number on the scale. However, the other day I saw something on The Rotund’s blog that had nothing much to do with FA, her announcement that she was going to be participating in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month–write 50,000 novel (or more) in one month), and it inspired me just the same.

I have been writing since I was in middle school and I recently graduated from college with a degree in creative writing. It is something that I love doing more than anything else; I am rarely happier than when I am immersed in a story. However, the past couple of years have found my production to be on the decline. I gave up thinking, gave up trying. I hated what I was doing by being so lazy about my writing, but for some reason I couldn’t seem to turn it around. I’m not really that creative anyway, the line went, it’s much better if I sit and watch five uninterrupted hours of TV.

However, reading that post got me thinking. Perhaps I was just doing to my writing what I’ve always done to my body: I’ve told myself that it’s not good enough for so long that I’m starting to believe it isn’t worth my time. All I’ve ever done to my body is hate it and trap it inside the diet/binge cycle. I’m trying to break myself out of that now, and I think it’s time to set my writing free too. So starting at midnight tonight, I will be participating in my first NaNoWriMo. I don’t know if I’ll win (aka hit 50,000 words), but I’ll do something and that’s…well…that’s something.

Comments»

1. zmama75 - December 21, 2007

Just checking in since it’s been quiet over here lately. Hope all is well!


Leave a Reply

